Give Me Liberty, or Give me… Pinterest? 

I believe the original quotation was “Give me liberty, or give me death!” attributed to Patrick Henry in 1775. I have modified this to fit a more modern agenda. Give me liberty, or give me Pinterest! 

Am I addicted to Pinterest?? Yes, yes I Am. Do I pin everything from potential family photos to how to DIY a teepee for my daughter? Yes, yes I do.

 Am I Pinterest perfect? No, no I am not.

I’ve spent hours on Pinterest, planning all sorts of crafts and home organization hacks, and some I attempt and surprise myself with how great it is and some I miserably fail at. 

In general I would say I’m guilty of idolizing the Pinterest and instagram queens of the world. The totally flawless, crisp, not a feather out of place persona! Is it not something to strive for? Sheer perfection? 

To be frank, it’s a literal MIRACLE if I can be dressed for an hour without some sort of … something.. on my clothes. I have a 2 year old daughter and a 6 month old puppy so, it could literally be anything. Same goes for dressing Mina (the 2 year old lol).


 Most times, I will begin a project and will have to attempt it twice, like a rough draft and a final copy and it still may not look like the picture. & after a long day of trying to achieve the impossible, I’m inevitably disappointed that I couldn’t replicate, what I saw someone else master flawlessly on Pinterest. As if that should matter after I did my very best (insert eye roll)


Mmkay, Be honest, have you ever tried so hard to make something happen, anything, and it all keeps going wrong, and by the end of the day you are in real life tears? I would say that happens to me 25% of the time (but I’m pretty emotional, just as a general rule)

What I’m getting at here, is while Pinterest is my drug of choice, it would end up killing me to hold myself to the unrealistic standards that are spread out everywhere for me to consume. As mothers and women, all striving to be as close to perfect as  we see on Pinterest, we must give ourselves a little more credit, give celebration to our tiniest victories because we are deserving and owe ourselves the appreciation of a job well done. My victories include, showering and Shaved BOTH legs, virtually uninterrupted, getting a picture of my daughter smiling WITH her eyes open at the same time, doing laundry and by the grace of god getting it folded the same day!!! 

Most days are not “Pinterest worthy”. That is true for EVERYONE. What I see on Pinterest, is not what is happening with that person everyday! Most days of an adult are as chaotic as a hurricane and the true perfection is getting through the day alive with enough energy to do a little something you enjoy! Right??

So, Am I addicted to Pinterest?? Yes, yes I Am.

Am I Pinterest perfect? Well.. that just depends on the day.

2 thoughts on “Give Me Liberty, or Give me… Pinterest? ”

  1. “My victories include, showering and Shaved BOTH legs, virtually uninterrupted, getting a picture of my daughter smiling WITH her eyes open at the same time, doing laundry and by the grace of god getting it folded the same day!!!
    Most days are not “Pinterest worthy”. That is true for EVERYONE. What I see on Pinterest, is not what is happening with that person everyday! Most days of an adult are as chaotic as a hurricane and the true perfection is getting through the day alive with enough energy to do a little something you enjoy! Right??”

    This is the truest thing I’ve EVER read! I spent so much time picking out outfits & being cute in highschool & even avoided the sweat pants slump & carried it into what I was able to attend of college…But NOW: half the time there’s a good chance at least one item of clothing I’m wearing is still from yesterday! Oh life just gets more glamorous eh? 😎🤓😋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesss lol now as we’ve gotten older I think glam is just a matter of perspective! I wish I had as much time to invest into my morning routine as I did in high school, of as much energy for that matter

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

